Winners Announced for the 2020 Shirley Jackson Awards

Boston, MA (August 2021) — In recognition of the legacy of Shirley Jackson’s writing, and with permission of the author’s estate, The Shirley Jackson Awards, Inc. has been established for outstanding achievement in the literature of psychological suspense, horror, and the dark fantastic.

The Shirley Jackson Awards are voted upon by a jury of professional writers, editors, critics, and academics.  The awards are given for the best work published in the preceding calendar year in the following categories:  Novel, Novella, Novelette, Short Fiction, Single-Author Collection, and Edited Anthology.

The 2020 Shirley Jackson Awards premiered on Sunday, August 15 2021, as a pre-recorded ceremony as part of Readercon 31. Readercon co-Guest of Honor Jeffrey Ford provided opening remarks for the ceremony. The winners of the 2020 Shirley Jackson Awards are:


The Only Good Indians by Stephen Graham Jones (Saga Press, Gallery Books)


Night of the Mannequins by Stephen Graham Jones (Tordotcom Publishing)


The Attic Tragedy by J. Ashley-Smith (Meerkat Press)


“Not the Man I Married” by R. A. Busby (Black Petals Issue #93 Autumn, 2020)


Velocities: Stories by Kathe Koja (Meerkat Press)


Black Cranes: Tales of Unquiet Women, edited by Lee Murray & Geneve Flynn (Omnium Gatherum)

Shirley Jackson (1916-1965) wrote such classic novels as The Haunting of Hill House and We Have Always Lived in the Castle, as well as one of the most famous short stories in the English language, “The Lottery.”  Her work continues to be a major influence on writers of every kind of fiction, from the most traditional genre offerings to the most innovative literary work.

Click here to view the ceremony. 

The 2020 ceremony will have closed captions available as well as subtitles in Spanish (Latin American) and Japanese.



Complete eligibility guidelines can be found here.

Publishers are asked to carefully consider works to submit

The Board of Directors and the jurors ask publishers and editors to consider the nature of the Shirley Jackson Awards. Just as Shirley Jackson was published in many different venues, the award seeks to draw from many –- likely and unlikely — sources to find literature to celebrate. The volume of submissions is high, and, in consideration of our jurors, we respectfully ask publishers to submit works within the spirit of the award.

Nick Harkaway wrote a blog post about his perspective when he was a judge reading for the Kitschies that is relevant to the experience of the Shirley Jackson Award jurors.

Publishers are asked to submit works for consideration

New in 2020, Publishers are asked to complete a short online form, found here. Submissions  Publishers sending submissions electronically can use this form to upload the files as well.


After the online form is submitted, the Administrator will send the submission guidelines with the juror addresses (to those publishers sending hard copy submissions). If you have any difficulty using the form, or have more than five works to submit, please email the Administrator. The deadline for works to be submitted for consideration is postmarked/submitted by January 31, 2021.

Please do not contact the jurors directly about questions pertaining to the administrative process about the awards. Please contact JoAnn Cox, Administrator, about any questions you may have by sending an email to admin at shirleyjacksonawards dot org .