Quincy, MA (July 2018) — In recognition of the legacy of Shirley Jackson’s writing, and with permission of the author’s estate, The Shirley Jackson Awards, Inc. has been established for outstanding achievement in the literature of psychological suspense, horror, and the dark fantastic.

The Shirley Jackson Awards are voted upon by a jury of professional writers, editors, critics, and academics, with input from a Board of Advisors. The awards are given for the best work published in the preceding calendar year in the following categories: Novel, Novella, Novelette, Short Story, Single-Author Collection, and Edited Anthology.

The 2016 Shirley Jackson Awards were presented on Sunday, July 16th at Readercon 28, Conference on Imaginative Literature, in Quincy, Massachusetts. Naomi Novik hosted the ceremony.


The Hole, Hye-young Pyun, translated by Sora Kim-Russell (Arcade Publishing)


Fever Dream, Samanta Schweblin, translated by Megan McDowell (Riverhead Books)

The Lost Daughter Collective, Lindsey Drager (Dzanc Books)


“Take the Way Home That Leads Back to Sullivan Street,” Chavisa Woods (Things to Do When You’re Goth in the Country)


“The Convexity of Our Youth,” Kurt Fawver (Looming Low)


Her Body and Other Parties, Carmen Maria Machado (Graywolf Press)


Shadows and Tall Trees Volume 7, edited by Michael Kelly (Undertow Publications