2019 Shirley Jackson Awards Winners


Boston, MA (July, 2020) — In recognition of the legacy of Shirley Jackson’s writing, and with permission of the author’s estate, The Shirley Jackson Awards, Inc. has been established for outstanding achievement in the literature of psychological suspense, horror, and the dark fantastic.

The Shirley Jackson Awards are voted upon by a jury of professional writers, editors, critics, and academics. The awards are given for the best work published in the preceding calendar year in the following categories:  Novel, Novella, Novelette, Short Story, Single-Author Collection, and Edited Anthology.

The 2019 Shirley Jackson Awards were premiered on Sunday, July 12, 2020, as a pre-recorded ceremony. The winners of the 2019 Shirley Jackson Awards are:


The Book of X, Sarah Rose Etter (Two Dollar Radio)


Ormeshadow, Priya Sharma (Tor.com)


Luminous Body, Brooke Warra (Dim Shores)


“Kali_Na,” Indrapramit Das (The Mythic Dream)


Song for the Unraveling of the World, Brian Evenson (Coffee House Press)


The Twisted Book of Shadows, edited by Christopher Golden & James A. Moore (Twisted Publishing)


Shirley Jackson (1916-1965) wrote such classic novels as The Haunting of Hill House and We Have Always Lived in the Castle, as well as one of the most famous short stories in the English language, “The Lottery.”  Her work continues to be a major influence on writers of every kind of fiction, from the most traditional genre offerings to the most innovative literary work.