Winners + Special Award Announced for the 2021 Shirley Jackson Awards

The 2021 Shirley Jackson Awards was presented in-person on October 29, 2022, as part of the Boston Book Festival, in partnership with Readercon, Conference on Imaginative Literature.

The awards ceremony was hosted by Paul Tremblay, best-selling author and one of the founders of the Shirley Jackson Awards. The ceremony included a pre-recorded remembrance of the late Peter Straub, delivered by author Elizabeth Hand. Shirley Jackson Awards Board Member Linda Addison also provided a video about her reflections on Shirley Jackson.

The winners of the 2021 Shirley Jackson Awards are:

NOVEL:  My Heart Is a Chainsaw by Stephen Graham Jones (Saga Press-US/Titan Books-UK)

NOVELLA:  Flowers for the Sea by Zin E. Rocklyn (Tordotcom)

NOVELETTE:  “We, the Girls Who Did Not Make It” by E. A. Petricone (Nightmare Magazine, February 2021)

SHORT FICTION:  “You’ll Understand When You’re a Mom Someday” by Isabel J. Kim (khōréō magazine, August 2021)

SINGLE-AUTHOR COLLECTION:  Folk Songs for Trauma Surgeons: Stories by Keith Rosson (Meerkat Press)


  • Professor Charlatan Bardot’s Travel Anthology to the Most (Fictional) Haunted Buildings in the Weird, Wild World, edited by Eric J. Guignard (Dark Moon Books)
  • Unfettered Hexes: Queer Tales of Insatiable Darkness, edited by dave ring (Neon Hemlock)

See the full list of the nominees for the 2021 Shirley Jackson Awards

The Shirley Jackson Awards, Inc., also is committed to promoting the legacy of Shirley Jackson and, as part of this mission, will present a Special Award to Ellen Datlow in recognition of the anthology When Things Get Dark: Stories inspired by Shirley Jackson (Titan Books, 2021).


In recognition of the legacy of Shirley Jackson’s writing, and with permission of the author’s estate, the Shirley Jackson Awards have been established for outstanding achievement in the literature of horror, the dark fantastic, and psychological suspense.

The Shirley Jackson Awards are voted upon by a jury of professional writers, editors, critics, and academics, with input from a Board of Advisors. The awards are given for the best work published in the preceding calendar year in English in the following categories:  Novel, Novella, Novelette, Short Fiction, Single-Author Collection, and Edited Anthology.

Shirley Jackson (1916-1965) wrote such classic novels as The Haunting of Hill House and We Have Always Lived in the Castle, as well as one of the most famous short stories in the English language, “The Lottery.”  Her work continues to be a major influence on writers of every kind of fiction, from the most traditional genre offerings to the most innovative literary work.



To request notification when submissions open for works first published in 2023, please send an email to admin at shirleyjacksonawards dot org. Complete eligibility guidelines can be found here.