Winners Announced for the 2010 Shirley Jackson Awards

Winners Announced for the 2010 Shirley Jackson Awards

Boston, MA (July 2011)— In recognition of the legacy of Shirley Jackson’s writing, and with permission of the author’s estate, The Shirley Jackson Awards, Inc. has been established for outstanding achievement ┬áin the literature of psychological suspense, horror, and the dark fantastic.

The Shirley Jackson Awards are voted upon by a jury of professional writers, editors, critics, and academics, with input from a Board of Advisors. The awards are given for the best work published in the preceding calendar year in the following categories: Novel, Novella, Novelette, Short Story, Single-Author Collection, and Edited Anthology.

The 2010 Shirley Jackson Awards were presented on Sunday, July 17th, 2011, at Readercon 22, Conference on Imaginative Literature, in Burlington, Massachusetts. Victor LaValle, winner of the 2009 Shirley Jackson Award for Best Novel, acted as host.

The winners for the 2010 Shirley Jackson Awards are:

Mr. Shivers, Robert Jackson Bennett (Orbit)

“Mysterium Tremendum,” Laird Barron (Occultation, Night Shade)

“The Truth is a Cave in the Black Mountains,” Neil Gaiman (Stories: All-New Tales, William Morrow)

“The Things,” Peter Watts (Clarkesworld, Issue 40)

Occultation, Laird Barron (Night Shade)

Stories: All-New Tales, edited by Neil Gaiman and Al Sarrantonio (William Morrow)

The first Board of Directors Special Award was presented to Joyce Carol Oates for her work on the Library of America edition of Shirley Jackson’s works.

Shirley Jackson (1916-1965) wrote such classic novels as The Haunting of Hill House and We Have Always Lived in the Castle, as well as one of the most famous short stories in the English language, “The Lottery.” Her work continues to be a major influence on writers of every kind of fiction, from the most traditional genre offerings to the most innovative literary work.

Media representative who are seeking further information or interviews should contact JoAnn F. Cox.
no comments
Jump to comment box
Leave a comment


(required, will not be shown)